Skip to content

Colors of Spring (posted 15 April 2012)

August 18, 2014

Welcome to the Colors of Spring blog hop with the Stampin’ llamas. We are celebrating spring with some retiring In Colors and the images that make us happy. If you are hopping the whole hop in order then you came from Kath’s site. If you didn’t come from there or you would like to return to her site, you can click here. You can  check out our home page with all of the hops listed by clicking here. Now on to my cards.

I bought this stamp set right after the new catalog came out last July. I wanted that goose, just because he was such a cool goose. I have seen so many gorgeous watercolors of the chair from Cherish Friendship, that I felt intimidated. But the sentiment from the set says, “Friends are kind to each other’s hopes and cherish each other’s dreams.” That so fits my llama sisters, that I decided to brave using my little goosey.

Dream Goose

The cardstock here is Pool Party, which is not one of the In Colors that is retiring. The Designer Series Paper is Twitterpated, which is retiring at the end of this month with all of the Occasions mini. The accent cardstock is Poppy Parade, which is retiring along with the ribbon. It is embossed with my very favorite “go to” embossing folder; Polka Dots.  I experimented earlier with stamping the sentiment on that ribbon and I liked it, but I like it better with the bolder print from the Loving Thoughts set from the Occasions Mini.

Elegant key

This card is my very favorite color Whisper White. LOL. It is embossed using the Elegant Bouquet embossing folder and the Big Shot. The DSP is another sheet of Twittepated, the accent CS is Blushing Bride (retiring!) and the key is from the Artistic Etchings set, heat embossed with Pewter Stampin’ Emboss powder. (It is a carryover from the Holiday mini: 124114 at $4.95) The frames are also from the Occasions Mini. They are the new Labels Framelits. I usually layer one on top of the other, but I loved this depth of frames, so each outer layer is popped up with dimensionals.

And finally we have spring at Lake Almanor. That is where I live. I would swear that all of the Canada Geese in the world are born here. Right now those poor geese are hiding out in the meadow covered with snow and hoping it will be warm tomorrow. The rest of us are thinking the same thing. They haven’t started nesting too seriously yet, but in a couple of months the meadow will be filled with goslings headed out for their first swim. If you are in a hurry to get across the causeway, too bad. I am bird watching and I suggest you slow down and do the same.

Canada Goose

This card was fun. The card itself is the retiring Peach Parfait, with the Twitterpated DSP. This is the flip side of the first one up top. I got out my bird book and my Watercolor Pencils and colored myself a Canada Goose. Then I used my blender pens to make him pretty. The Blushing Bride Pleated Satin Ribbon is from the Occasions mini and only available through April 2012 (yep, this month). The sentiment I quoted above is from the Cherish Friendship set with the goosey.

Now it is time to hop along. (I wouldn’t complain if you accidentally read and commented on some of my previous posts while you are here.) Jackie is next on this hop and I am thinking you will be impressed. You can click here to go to Jackie’s blog.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment